PROTECTING YOUR RECORD!
ATTENTION DRIVERS! NEW LAW--BIG PENALTIES!
Michigan’s new DRIVER RESPONSIBILITY LAW provides for new penalties IN ADDITION to traffic fines, points and insurance increases. The penalty is payable to the Michigan Department of Treasury. Now, a qualifying offense requires payment of the fine to the court and a fee payable to the Michigan Treasury for two consecutive years. These fees are a downward spiral ending in loss of your driver’s license.
Call Us Today at 248-243-1205
NOW, HIRING AN ATTORNEY IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST!
The new Driver Responsibility Fees of $1,000, $500, $200 are charged over and above the court fines and costs, despite increased insurance premiums, making the hiring an attorney a must.
Increased Insurance Premiums:
Any moving violation, regardless of points, will be abstracted onto your record, reported to insurance agencies, and adversely affect future traffic stops. Insurance companies “rate” your driving propensities based on traffic convictions. Keep the convictions off of your record and avoid the rate hikes and additional charges.
Any moving violation entered onto your record increases your insurance premiums (usually by 22% per ticket) We strive for Completely protecting your record from moving violations.
There are mandatory driver responsibility fees ($200-1000/year for 2 years) assessed for any conviction. Each point can cost an additional $150 for 3 years on top of court fines and driver responsibility fees. Therefore to avoid paying penalties and keep convictions off of your record, it is imperative to have representation.
· Hire a qualified lawyer before making costly mistakes.
· The cost of a lawyer is minimal compared to the consequences of being found guilty.
· Do not believe you can “talk your way out of it” in Court without representation.
IF YOU GET A TICKET, CALL IMMEDIATELY!
The effects of a blemished driving record last a long time and cost a lot of money. It is far better to hire an attorney at the time you receive a ticket to advise you what to do, than to pay the ticket, admit guilt, and face adverse consequences for years and years. If you receive a ticket of any kind, you should immediately consult with an attorney.
THE LAW OFFICE OF
GLENN A. MCCANDLISS
7397 Bernice Avenue
Center Line, MI 48015-1248
Should I Get A Lawyer? (Analysis)
1. Driver is ticketed
2. Does not hire a lawyer
(i) pleads guilty or (ii) goes to court alone
3. Court sets arraignment/trial date
4. Police Officer and Prosecutor Present case
5. Driver found guilty and sentenced by Court
6. Court imposes Fine, Probation, or JAIL
7. Placed on Master Driving Record
8. Offense on record with L.I.E.N./N.C.I.C.
9. Secretary of State/DMV Points assessed
10. Driver Responsibility Fees charged by mail.
11. Insurance Company "Rates" Driver <7 years
1. Driver is ticketed
2. Hires a lawyer
3. Lawyer files an appearance
4. Court waives arraignment
5. Court extends hearing date
6. Lawyer meets with prosecutor
7. Reduced Plea Negotiated
8. Plea May Include No Abstract
9. Fine imposed with time to pay
10. No Master Driving Record entry
11. No LIEN/NCIC Conviction
12. No Driver Responsibility Fees
13. No Insurance rate increases